wont run

Arts & Entertainment, Computing, Science & Technology

Moderator: Staff

Post Reply
mini
Prolific
Posts: 3687
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 5:24 pm
Location: New York, USA
Contact:

wont run

Post by mini » Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:41 pm

problem running Bad company, can start it up and get into map then it CTD after i try to move.
I have older puter with min specs which could be hampering my experience but i think it can run it.
small and fierce.........
Alienware 15 R3
6700HQ, 16 gig DDR4 @2667, 1060 GTX 6 gig, 128 SSD boot, 1000 gig Storage.

redfireant3
Prolific
Posts: 2414
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 11:16 pm
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Contact:

Re: wont run

Post by redfireant3 » Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:48 pm

before asking all the usual are your drivers up to date? I think the newest BC2 updates fixed most of that didnt they?

dox
Prolific
Posts: 18732
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 2:20 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: wont run

Post by dox » Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:46 pm

Definitely refresh all your drivers (don't forget sound, etc)

Does it crash only (and literally) when you move? e.g.: Can you stand still for a long time and watch what happens?

Do you need help w/Vent as well?

mini
Prolific
Posts: 3687
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 5:24 pm
Location: New York, USA
Contact:

Re: wont run

Post by mini » Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:15 pm

vents good, but yes when i stand it doesnt crash but as soon as i move it CTD's.


1. drivers all up to date
2.steam bought 3 days ago
3. all un-used programs shut off.
4. no antivirus running
small and fierce.........
Alienware 15 R3
6700HQ, 16 gig DDR4 @2667, 1060 GTX 6 gig, 128 SSD boot, 1000 gig Storage.

dox
Prolific
Posts: 18732
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 2:20 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: wont run

Post by dox » Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:18 pm

Which OS (please don't say Vista :))

Cobra
Prolific
Posts: 1442
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 5:46 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: wont run

Post by Cobra » Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:42 pm

It's Vista. Tina and I were on Vent with mini just the other night trying to help him diagnose the issue and if my memory serves me right, I believe his said he's running Vista.

dox
Prolific
Posts: 18732
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 2:20 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: wont run

Post by dox » Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:05 pm

Oh noes. That'll make it a little trickier to diagnose I think (also: mini, seriously -- you WILL get better gaming performance out of your machine w/Win7!)

Vengeance
Prolific
Posts: 6054
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: wont run

Post by Vengeance » Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:14 pm

Everything set to low and running it on DX9?
Image

mini
Prolific
Posts: 3687
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 5:24 pm
Location: New York, USA
Contact:

Re: wont run

Post by mini » Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:23 pm

yeah all on low and forced dx9
settings below

[WindowSettings]
Width=1024
Height=768
Fullscreen=true
RefreshRate=60
VSync=true
[Sound]
Quality=low
VoipEnable=true
SpeakerCount=0
[Graphics]
Effects=low
Soldiers=low
Vehicles=low
Overgrowth=low
Undergrowth=low
StaticObjects=low
Terrain=low
Shadows=low
Bloom=false
HSAO=false
MSAA=0
Water=low
MainQuality=low
Texture=low
DxVersion=9
Aniso=0
Detail=low
RenderAheadLimit=2
Fov=55
small and fierce.........
Alienware 15 R3
6700HQ, 16 gig DDR4 @2667, 1060 GTX 6 gig, 128 SSD boot, 1000 gig Storage.

Alien24
Exuberant
Posts: 455
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:59 am
Location: Easley, South Carolina

Re: wont run

Post by Alien24 » Fri Oct 01, 2010 10:57 pm

Try going here mini http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/ and see if your PC has the juice to run it.
Image

dox
Prolific
Posts: 18732
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 2:20 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: wont run

Post by dox » Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:26 pm

But I daresay: isn't the "juice" secondary to CTD? Worst-case he could run it 640x480 but he could run it...?

Post Reply