Page 1 of 1

wont run

Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:41 pm
by mini
problem running Bad company, can start it up and get into map then it CTD after i try to move.
I have older puter with min specs which could be hampering my experience but i think it can run it.

Re: wont run

Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:48 pm
by redfireant3
before asking all the usual are your drivers up to date? I think the newest BC2 updates fixed most of that didnt they?

Re: wont run

Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:46 pm
by dox
Definitely refresh all your drivers (don't forget sound, etc)

Does it crash only (and literally) when you move? e.g.: Can you stand still for a long time and watch what happens?

Do you need help w/Vent as well?

Re: wont run

Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:15 pm
by mini
vents good, but yes when i stand it doesnt crash but as soon as i move it CTD's.


1. drivers all up to date
2.steam bought 3 days ago
3. all un-used programs shut off.
4. no antivirus running

Re: wont run

Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:18 pm
by dox
Which OS (please don't say Vista :))

Re: wont run

Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:42 pm
by Cobra
It's Vista. Tina and I were on Vent with mini just the other night trying to help him diagnose the issue and if my memory serves me right, I believe his said he's running Vista.

Re: wont run

Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:05 pm
by dox
Oh noes. That'll make it a little trickier to diagnose I think (also: mini, seriously -- you WILL get better gaming performance out of your machine w/Win7!)

Re: wont run

Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:14 pm
by Vengeance
Everything set to low and running it on DX9?

Re: wont run

Posted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:23 pm
by mini
yeah all on low and forced dx9
settings below

[WindowSettings]
Width=1024
Height=768
Fullscreen=true
RefreshRate=60
VSync=true
[Sound]
Quality=low
VoipEnable=true
SpeakerCount=0
[Graphics]
Effects=low
Soldiers=low
Vehicles=low
Overgrowth=low
Undergrowth=low
StaticObjects=low
Terrain=low
Shadows=low
Bloom=false
HSAO=false
MSAA=0
Water=low
MainQuality=low
Texture=low
DxVersion=9
Aniso=0
Detail=low
RenderAheadLimit=2
Fov=55

Re: wont run

Posted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 10:57 pm
by Alien24
Try going here mini http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/ and see if your PC has the juice to run it.

Re: wont run

Posted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:26 pm
by dox
But I daresay: isn't the "juice" secondary to CTD? Worst-case he could run it 640x480 but he could run it...?